Have questions, suggestions, or concerns?

Program Directors:

Mailing Address:

Siebel Scholars Foundation
1300 Seaport Blvd., Suite 400
Redwood City, CA 94063


(650) 299-5260

Welcome the MIT Siebel Scholars for 2016

ARTICLE BY: Michael Rutter

MIT News

February 4th 2016

Sixteen MIT graduate students are among the 2016 cohort of Siebel Foundation Scholars hailing from the world’s top graduate programs in business, bioengineering, computer science, and energy science.

Honored for their academic achievements, leadership, and commitments to addressing crucial global challenges, the select MIT students are part of a class of 90 individuals receiving a $35,000 award for their final year of study. In addition, they will join a community of more than 1,000 past Siebel Scholars, including 200 MIT affiliates.

“We are deeply pleased and thankful that our students continue to benefit from the Siebel Foundation’s longstanding support for academic excellence and leadership,” says Ian A. Waitz, dean of the MIT School of Engineering. “The program provides a rare and wonderful opportunity to convene a group of exceptional students who are poised to become future innovators, educators, and thought leaders. By connecting them and asking them to collectively think about some of the world’s most challenging problems, it amplifies their individual talents.”

Established in 2000 by the Thomas and Stacey Siebel Foundation, the program offers grants through 25 partner programs at global universities in the United States, China, France, Italy, and Japan.

“In addition to recognizing the individual excellence of our students, the Siebel Scholars program opens the door to a powerful global network,” says David C. Schmittlein, dean of the MIT Sloan School of Management. “Past MIT Sloan recipients have all conveyed the value of bumping up against disciplines and approaches different from their own. In the world of modern business, that perspective is not just nice to have, but a necessity.”

The Siebel Scholars are chosen by the deans of their respective schools on the basis of outstanding academic achievement and demonstrated leadership.

MIT was one of the few schools that named a scholar in the newly established energy-science field: Morgan Edwards, a PhD candidate in the Institute for Data, Systems, and Society (IDSS), who is developing tools to assess the performance of energy technologies in the face of changing climate and environmental constraints.

With 16 scholars, MIT represents the largest group of Siebel recipients. This year's MIT honorees are: