Have questions, suggestions, or concerns?

Program Directors:

Mailing Address:

Siebel Scholars Foundation
1300 Seaport Blvd., Suite 400
Redwood City, CA 94063


(650) 299-5260

The Siebel Foundation Announces 2009 Siebel Scholars

The Siebel Foundation

October 6th 2008


PALO ALTO, Calif.—October 7, 2008—The Siebel Foundation today announced the recipients of the annual Siebel Scholars scholarship awards. The Siebel Scholars program recognizes outstanding graduate students from the world's most prestigious business and computer science schools. Based on academic merit and leadership excellence, five graduate students from each institution are honored as Class of 2009 Siebel Scholars and received a $25,000 award for their final year of graduate studies.

The Siebel Scholars program was established by the Siebel Foundation in 2000 to recognize the most talented students at the world's leading graduate schools of business and computer science. Over the past eight years, the Siebel Scholars program has created a community of over 450 Scholars that fosters personal leadership, academic achievement, and the collaborative search for solutions to pressing societal problems. Siebel Scholars are key advisors to the Siebel Foundation, guiding the development of innovative programs the Foundation initiates.

“As leaders in business and computer science, Siebel Scholars have the opportunity to directly influence the technologies, policies, and economic and social decisions that shape the future, said Thomas M. Siebel, Chairman of the Siebel Foundation. “The Siebel Foundation looks forward to working with these bright Scholars.”

Siebel Scholars rank top of their class and are selected by the Dean of their respective schools on the basis of outstanding academic achievement and demonstrated qualities of leadership. This year’s honorees are:

Carnegie Mellon University, School of Computer Science:
David Abraham, Andrew Gilpin, Ryan Miller, Daniel Munoz, Mehrbod Sharifi
Harvard University, School of Engineering and Applied Sciences:
Neil Jhaveri, Daniel Shteremberg
Massachusetts Institute of Technology, School of Engineering:
Ozan Candogan, Jason Chang, Kailiang Chen, Ankur Moitra, William Loh
Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Sloan School of Management:
Ignacio Diaz Candia, Raphael Girardoni, Burt LaFountain, Irina Starikova, Damian Wisniewski
Northwestern University, Kellogg School of Management:
Smruti Behera, Edward Colburn, Anneliese Gerland, Allana Jackson, Justin Ward
Stanford University, Graduate School of Business:
Emily Bailard, Howard Bornstein, Billy Butcher, Jr., Sophie Pinkard, Benjamin Sloop
Stanford University, School of Engineering:
Jason Auerbach, Nikola Milosavljevic, Tina Nguyen, Lok Sang Lawson Wong, Loren Yu
University of California, Berkeley, College of Engineering:
Ashima Atul, Erika Chin, Henry Cook, Seth Horrigan, Joshua Paul
University of Chicago, Graduate School of Business:
Dan Belz, Jody Kirchner, Raul Lara, Kapil Mohan, Ryan Schleicher
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, College of Engineering:
Albert Lucius, Kumaresh Pattabiraman, Daniel Rebolledo Samper, Nathan Wesling, Rajhans Samdani

A key element of the program is the annual Siebel Scholars conference. Each fall, current and alumni Siebel Scholars come together with university faculty and some of the world’s most prestigious thought-leaders to discuss and debate global issues. Northwestern University will host the 2008 conference, entitled Water: The Next Global Crisis? Distinguished speakers include:

  • Terry Anderson, Executive Director, Property and Environment Research Center
  • Nigel Asquith, Co-founder and Director of Policy and Strategy, Fundacion Natura Bolivia and Executive Director, Ecofund Ecuador
  • Maude Barlow, National Chairperson, Council of Canadians and Co-founder, Blue Planet Project
  • Joseph Dellapenna, Professor of Law, Villanova University
  • Peter Gleick, President and Co-founder, Pacific Institute for Studies in Development, Environment, and Security
  • Robert Glennon, Professor of Law and Public Policy, University of Arizona
  • Clay Landry, Managing Director and Principal, WestWater Research
  • Lewis Lapham, former Editor, Harper’s Magazine and Founder, Lapham’s Quarterly
  • Gary Libecap, Professor of Corporate Environmental Management, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Patricia Mulroy, General Manager, Las Vegas Valley Water District, Southern Nevada Water Authority
  • Rodney Smith, President, Strategic Water Group LLC
  • Kimberley Strassel, Member, Editorial Board, Wall Street Journal
  • Buzz Thompson, Director, Woods Institute for the Environment at Stanford University and Professor of Natural Resources Law, Stanford Law School

  • For more information about the Siebel Scholars program, please visit
    About the Siebel Foundation
    The Thomas and Stacey Siebel Foundation—a nonprofit, public benefit corporation—was established as a private foundation in 1996. Its mission is to support projects and organizations that work to improve the quality of life, environment, and education of its community members. The Siebel Foundation funds projects to support the homeless and underprivileged, educational and research programs, methamphetamine abuse prevention, and alternative energy solutions. The Siebel Foundation engages in strategic philanthropy, as such it does not entertain grant requests, but invests in projects it creates and operates. For more information please visit