Have questions, suggestions, or concerns?

Program Directors:

Mailing Address:

Siebel Scholars Foundation
1300 Seaport Blvd., Suite 400
Redwood City, CA 94063


(650) 299-5260

Siebel Scholars Foundation Announces 2016 Siebel Scholars

World’s Brightest Business, Computer Science, Bioengineering, and Energy Science Students Join Distinguished Community of Over 1,000 Leaders

REDWOOD CITY, Calif.—September 8, 2015— The Siebel Scholars Foundation today announced the recipients of the annual Siebel Scholars award. The Siebel Scholars program recognizes exceptional students at the world’s leading graduate schools of business, computer science, and bioengineering. With the Class of 2016, the Siebel Scholars program has expanded to engage outstanding leaders in the field of energy science.  Today, more than 1,000 Siebel Scholars are active in the program that promotes leadership, academic achievement, and the collaborative search for solutions to the world’s most critical issues.

“It is my great pleasure to congratulate the Siebel Scholars Class of 2016 and to welcome them to this ever-growing, lifelong community,” said Thomas M. Siebel, Chairman of the Siebel Scholars Foundation. “Expanding the program into energy science accelerates the development of innovative, collaborative research to address today’s most pressing challenges.”

The Siebel Scholars program was established by the Siebel Foundation in 2000 through grants to 16 universities in the United States, China, France, Italy, and Japan. Each year, top graduate students from 25 partner programs are honored as Siebel Scholars and receive a $35,000 award for their final year of studies.  The 90 Class of 2016 Siebel Scholars will join a vibrant community of global leaders who collaborate, communicate, and institute meaningful change.

With the introduction of energy science, Siebel Scholars will include top talent from several institutions already participating in the program, and from three universities new to the initiative: École Polytechnique, Politecnico di Torino, and University of Tokyo. Siebel Scholars are chosen by the deans of their respective schools on the basis of outstanding academic achievement and demonstrated leadership. On average, Siebel Scholars rank in the top 5% of their class, many within the top 1%. This year’s honorees are:

Graduate Schools of Energy Science

Carnegie Mellon University, School of Computer Science:
Matt Wytock

École Polytechnique, Graduate School:
Benjamin Heymann

Massachusetts Institute of Technology, School of Engineering:
Morgan Edwards

Politecnico di Torino, Doctoral School:
Federico de Bosio

Princeton University, School of Engineering and Applied Science:
Xinwo Huang

University of California, Berkeley, College of Engineering:
Ranjit Deshmukh

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, College of Engineering:
Karl Reinhard

Graduate Schools of Bioengineering

Johns Hopkins University, Whiting School of Engineering and School of Medicine:
Sebastian Barreto Ortiz, Hao Dang, Shadi Eshghi, David Herzfeld, Dong Shin

Massachusetts Institute of Technology, School of Engineering:
Vivian Hecht, Deepak Mishra, Marcus Parrish, Sarah Schrier, Alice Tzeng

Stanford University, School of Engineering and School of Medicine:
Nathaniel Cira, Derek Macklin, Melina Mathur, Carmichael Ong, Liva Zarnescu

University of California, Berkeley, College of Engineering:
Malav Desai, Kathryn Fink, Kunwoo Lee, Anusuya Ramasubramanian, Zachary Russ

University of California, San Diego, Institute of Engineering in Medicine and Jacobs School of Engineering:
Amay Bandodkar, Brian Luk, Douglas McCloskey, Seth Parker, Elaine Skowronski

Graduate Schools of Business

Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Sloan School of Management:
Shawn Basak, Stephanie Moore, Marvin Palavicini Arce, Shahrukh Raheem, Federico Weis

Northwestern University, Kellogg School of Management:
Alizeh Gangji, Shane Parkhill, Rohan Rajiv, Scott Stewart, Mitchell Vainshtein

Stanford University, Graduate School of Business:
Ibrahim Alsuwaidi, Dorian Bertsch, Michael Ding, Mike Mester, Sarah Wang

University of Chicago Booth School of Business:
Max Cohen, Yevgeniya Kaliberova, Bradley Powell, Alon Shiran, Boone Williams

Graduate Schools of Computer Science

Carnegie Mellon University, School of Computer Science:John Dickerson, Rohit Girdhar, Po-Yao Huang, Jeffrey Rzeszotarski, Xun Zheng

Harvard John A. Paulson School of Engineering and Applied Sciences:
Hsieh-Chung Chen, Svilen Kanev, Scott Linderman, Scott Moore, Bo Waggoner

Massachusetts Institute of Technology, School of Engineering:
Hsin-Yu Lai, Alvaro Morales, Sirma Orguc, Wei Ouyang, Dogyoon Song

Princeton University, School of Engineering and Applied Science:
Shivam Agarwal, Ankit Garg, Xin Jin, Shilpa Nadimpalli, Rajesh Ranganath

Stanford University, School of Engineering:
Giovanni Campagna, Vivek Jain, Matthew Pick, Jordan Rabet, Lili Yang

Tsinghua University, School of Information Science and Technology:
Shuo Chen, Zhanpeng Fang, Jian He, Xin Li, Tian Tian

University of California, Berkeley, College of Engineering:
Siyuan He, Erik Krogen, Nathaniel Mailoa

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, College of Engineering:
Oreoluwa Alebiosu, Pedro Bello-Maldonado, Avesta Hojjati, Tarique Siddiqui, Shashank Yaduvanshi

Today, more than 1,000 of the world’s brightest minds are Siebel Scholars. They lead a diverse range of ventures, including innovative startups, cutting-edge academic research, and philanthropic initiatives, which demonstrate promise for significant societal impact. This formidable group of entrepreneurs, researchers, and philanthropists directly influence the technologies, policies, and economic and social decisions that shape the future. Siebel Scholars have served on more than 340 boards and founded more than 150 companies, of which more than 56 have successfully gone public or were sold to enterprises, including Google, Intuit,, and Dropbox. They innovate across disciplines spanning more than a dozen industries, having launched more than 1,100 products, authored more than 370 patents, and manage more than $2.7 trillion in assets. As accomplished experts in their fields, Siebel Scholars have published nearly 40 books and more than 2,650 articles or book chapters. They have also given back to their communities by establishing 54 nonprofits and volunteering more than 19,000 hours each year, as of the most recent survey of Siebel Scholars.


About Siebel Scholars

The Siebel Scholars program was founded in 2000 by the Siebel Foundation to recognize the most talented students at the world’s leading graduate schools of business, computer science, bioengineering, and energy science. These include: Carnegie Mellon University; École Polytechnique; Harvard University; Johns Hopkins University; Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Northwestern University; Politecnico di Torino; Princeton University; Stanford University; Tsinghua University; University of California, Berkeley; University of California, San Diego; University of Chicago; University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; University of Pennsylvania; and University of Tokyo. Today, our active community of over 1,000 leaders serves as advisors to the Siebel Foundation and works collaboratively to find solutions to society’s most pressing problems. For more information about the Siebel Scholars program, please visit


About the Siebel Foundation

The Thomas and Stacey Siebel Foundation, a nonprofit, public benefit corporation, was established as a private foundation in 1996. Its mission is to foster programs and organizations that improve the quality of life, environment, and education of its community members. The Siebel Foundation funds projects to support the homeless and underprivileged, education and research, public health, and alternative energy solutions.


# # #

Media Contact:

Jenny Christiansen

Siebel Scholars Foundation

(650) 299-5255