Have questions, suggestions, or concerns?

Program Directors:

Mailing Address:

Siebel Scholars Foundation
1300 Seaport Blvd., Suite 400
Redwood City, CA 94063


(650) 299-5260

Siebel Scholars Foundation Announces 2015 Siebel Scholars

World’s Brightest Business, Computer Science, and Bioengineering Students Join Distinguished Community of Over 950 Leaders


REDWOOD CITY, Calif.—September 8, 2014—The Siebel Scholars Foundation today announced the recipients of the annual Siebel Scholars award. The Siebel Scholars program recognizes the most talented students at the world’s leading graduate schools of business, computer science, and bioengineering. With the Class of 2015, 83 new Siebel Scholars join an ever-growing, lifelong community of accomplished leaders. Today, more than 950 Siebel Scholars are active in the program that fosters and promotes leadership, academic achievement, and the collaborative search for solutions to the world’s most critical issues.


“Congratulations to the Siebel Scholars Class of 2015. Representing the best and brightest from around the globe, these distinguished students join entrepreneurs, researchers, and philanthropists from past Siebel Scholars classes to form an unmatched professional and personal network – bringing together diverse insights and perspectives from business and engineering disciplines at the forefront of solutions to global challenges,” said Thomas M. Siebel, Chairman of the Siebel Scholars Foundation.


The Siebel Scholars program was established in 2000 by the Siebel Foundation through grants to 17 of the most prestigious business, bioengineering, and computer science graduate programs. Each year, up to five graduate students from each partner institution are selected as Siebel Scholars to receive a $35,000 award for their final year of studies and join the vibrant community of leaders who collaborate, communicate, and institute meaningful change.


Siebel Scholars are chosen by the dean of their respective schools on the basis of outstanding academic achievement and demonstrated leadership. On average, Siebel Scholars rank in the top 5% of their class, many within the top 1%. This year’s honorees are:


Graduate Schools of Bioengineering

Johns Hopkins University, Whiting School of Engineering and School of Medicine:
Mustafa Mert Ankarali, Iraj Hosseini, Carmen Kut, Joel Sunshine, and Tuo Zhao


Massachusetts Institute of Technology, School of Engineering:
Josephine Bagnall, Isaac Alexander Chaim, Jing Ge, Rebecca Lescarbeau, and Alec Nielsen


Stanford University, School of Engineering and School of Medicine:
Cheen Euong Ang, Miriam Gutschow, Shrivats Iyer, Kathy Wei, and Yuan Yao


University of California, Berkeley, College of Engineering:
Sergey Boyarskiy, Wen-Chin Huang, Sophie Wong, Erh-Chia Yeh, and Bo Zheng


University of California, San Diego, Institute of Engineering in Medicine and Jacobs School of Engineering:
Begoña Álvarez-González, Ronnie Fang, Todd Johnson, Sophia Suarez, and Hermes Taylor-Weiner


Graduate Schools of Business

Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Sloan School of Management:
Samuel Clark, Zachary Gil Freeman, Kevin Geehr, Christine Elizabeth Leach, and Alexandra Wright


Northwestern University, Kellogg School of Management:
Jose Kunnackal, Katherine Rehberger, Joshua Reilly, Ryan Shain, and Christen Tingley


Stanford University, Graduate School of Business:
Kelly Alverson, Elizabeth Bird, Peter Scott Nurnberg, Javier Ortega Del Rio, and Sagar Sanghvi


University of Chicago Booth School of Business:
Lee Ettleman, Ali Khachan, Solomon Lee, Anna Pione, and Neha Poddar


Graduate Schools of Computer Science

Carnegie Mellon University, School of Computer Science:
Joydeep Biswas, Anca Dragan, Anirudh Viswanathan, Pengtao Xie, and Adams Wei Yu


Harvard University, School of Engineering and Applied Sciences:
Nathaniel John Herman, Daniel Margo, Kevin Schmid, Yakun Sophia Shao, and Stephen John Tarsa


Massachusetts Institute of Technology, School of Engineering:
Madeline Blair Aby, Polina Binder, Max Dunitz, Esther Han Beol Jang, and Benoit Landry


Princeton University, School of Engineering and Applied Sciences:
Xiaozhou Li, Taewook Oh, Thiago Pereira, Omri Weinstein, and Peter Zimmerman


Stanford University, School of Engineering:
Michael Fitzpatrick, Hee Woo Jun, Ian Tenney, Mark Ulrich, and Ding Zhao


Tsinghua University, School of Information Science and Technology:
Jun Hu, Yu Jiang, Lian Wang, Yang You, and Yongfeng Zhang


University of California, Berkeley, College of Engineering:
Matthew Fong, Henry Lu, and Xinchen Ye


University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, College of Engineering:
Amirhossein Aleyasen, Lamyaa Eloussi, Gourav Khaneja, Jereme Lamps, and Mayank Pundir



Today, more than 950 of the world’s brightest minds are Siebel Scholars. They lead a diverse range of ventures, including innovative startups, cutting-edge academic research, and philanthropic initiatives, which demonstrate promise for significant societal impact. This formidable group of entrepreneurs, researchers, and philanthropists directly influence the technologies, policies, and economic and social decisions that shape the future. Siebel Scholars have served on more than 340 boards and founded more than 150 companies, of which more than 56 have successfully gone public or were sold to enterprises, including Google, Intuit,, and Dropbox. They innovate across disciplines spanning more than a dozen industries, having launched more than 1,100 products, authored more than 370 patents, and manage more than $2.7 trillion in assets. As accomplished experts in their fields, Siebel Scholars have published nearly 40 books and more than 2,650 articles or book chapters. They have also given back to their communities by establishing 54 nonprofits and volunteering more than 19,000 hours each year, as of the most recent survey of Siebel Scholars.


About Siebel Scholars

The Siebel Scholars program was founded in 2000 by the Siebel Foundation to recognize the most talented students at the world’s leading graduate schools of business, computer science, and bioengineering. Today, our active community of over 950 leaders serves as advisors to the Siebel Foundation and works collaboratively to find solutions to society’s most pressing problems. For more information about the Siebel Scholars program, please visit


About The Siebel Foundation

The Thomas and Stacey Siebel Foundation, a nonprofit, public benefit corporation, was established as a private foundation in 1996. Its mission is to foster programs and organizations that improve the quality of life, environment, and education of its community members. The Siebel Foundation funds projects to support the homeless and underprivileged, education and research, public health, and alternative energy solutions.


# # #


Media Contact:


Jenny Hildebrand Christiansen
Siebel Scholars Foundation
(650) 299-5255