Have questions, suggestions, or concerns?

Program Directors:

Mailing Address:

Siebel Scholars Foundation
1300 Seaport Blvd., Suite 400
Redwood City, CA 94063


(650) 299-5260

The Siebel Scholars Foundation Announces 2012 Siebel Scholars

Community Grows to 700 Leaders in Business, Computer Science, and Bioengineering

PALO ALTO, Calif.September 7, 2011—The Siebel Scholars Foundation today announced the recipients of the annual Siebel Scholars awards. The Siebel Scholars program recognizes the most talented students at the world’s leading graduate schools of business, bioengineering, and computer science. With the 2012 class of Siebel Scholars, 85 new scholars join an ever-growing, lifelong community of leaders. Today, 700 Siebel Scholars are active in a program that fosters leadership, academic achievement, and the collaborative search for solutions to the world’s most pressing problems.

The Siebel Scholars program was established in 2000 by the Siebel Foundation through a grant of more than $45 million to Carnegie Mellon University; Harvard University; The Johns Hopkins University; Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Northwestern University; Stanford University; Tsinghua University; University of California, Berkeley; University of California, San Diego; University of Chicago; University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; and University of Pennsylvania. With the Class of 2012, the Siebel Scholars program has expanded to include Princeton University’s Department of Computer Science. Each year, five graduate students from each of the 17 partner institutions are honored as Siebel Scholars and receive a $35,000 award for their final year of studies.

“We are proud to support the Siebel Scholars Class of 2012 as they collaborate and forge lifelong ties with this engaged community of leaders,” said Karen Roter Davis, Executive Director of the Siebel Scholars Foundation. “They are joining an exceptional group of talented individuals working together with the Siebel Foundation to address critical societal issues in health, food, and energy.”

Siebel Scholars are selected from among students who rank at the top of their class, and are chosen by the dean of their respective schools on the basis of outstanding academic achievement and demonstrated leadership. This year’s honorees are:

Graduate Schools of Bioengineering
Johns Hopkins University, Whiting School of Engineering and School of Medicine:
Manisha Aggarwal, Hannah Carter, Stephanie Fraley, Donny Hanjaya-Putra, Suneil Hosmane

Massachusetts Institute of Technology, School of Engineering:
Roberto Barbero, Scott Carlson, Yuri Matsumoto, Melody Morris, Ranjani Paradise

Stanford University, School of Engineering and School of Medicine:
Oscar Abilez, Amy Lam, Timothy Lee, Min-Sun Son, Jianbin Wang

University of California, Berkeley, College of Engineering:
Jeffrey Henry, Eric Jabart, Joshua Kittleson, Frank Myers, Eddie Wang

University of California, San Diego, Institute of Engineering in Medicine and Jacobs School of Engineering:
Jessica DeQuach, Che-Ming Hu, Lauren Jepson, Daniel Kagan, Nathan Lewis

Graduate Schools of Business
Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Sloan School of Management:
Paul Artiuch, Kathryn Bach, Daniel Coleman, Ed Hallen, Ankit Jain

Northwestern University, Kellogg School of Management:
Adrienne Day, James Matthew House, Sidharth Kakkar, Kevin Poff, Jessica Young

Stanford University, Graduate School of Business:
Christopher Bockman, Mudit Garg, William Hartman, Joanna Pratt, Karl Werner

University of Chicago Booth School of Business:
Christopher Bordoni, Richard Cavolo, William Logas, Michael Marquis, Benjamin Orton

Graduate Schools of Computer Science
Carnegie Mellon University, School of Computer Science:
Andrew Chambers, Luis Pedro Coelho, Preethi Raju, Stephanie Rosenthal, Robert Simmons

Harvard University, School of Engineering and Applied Sciences:
Dimitrios Antos, Uri Braun, Loren McGinnis, Kalyan Sunkavalli, Benjamin Zagorsky

Massachusetts Institute of Technology, School of Engineering:
Elie Adam, Angela Chang, George Chen, Nirmesh Malviya, Fan Zhang

Princeton University, School of Engineering and Applied Science:
Anirudh Badam, Robert Dockins, Nicholas Jones, Wyatt Lloyd, Chong Wang

Stanford University, School of Engineering:
Jonah Brown-Cohen, David Cummings, Srinivasan Iyer, Eli Marschner, An Nguyen

Tsinghua University, School of Information Science and Technology:
Wenjie Liu, Junwei Miao, Luo Sen, Fucen Zeng, He Zhang

University of California, Berkeley, College of Engineering:
Sally Ahn, Clifford Engle, Saung Li

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, College of Engineering:
Swapnil Ghike, Harshitha Menon Gopalakrishnan Menon, Katrina Gossman, Akhil Langer, Nipun Sehrawat

Current and alumni Siebel Scholars will convene October 14-16 at the Janelia Farm Research Campus of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute in Ashburn, Virginia to explore the science, applications, benefits, and risks of synthetic biology with world-renowned scientific, industry, ethics, and policy experts, including Craig Venter, Founder, Chairman, and President of the J. Craig Venter Institute and Founder and CEO of Synthetic Genomics Inc.; Jay Keasling, Director of Lawrence Berkeley National Labs Synthetic Biology Engineering Research Center and CEO of the Joint BioEnergy Institute; Vandana Shiva, World-Renowned Environmental Leader; Arthur Caplan, Director of the Center for Bioethics at the University of Pennsylvania; and Ed Penhoet, Founder and Former CEO of Chiron Corporation and a member of the President’s Council of Advisors on Science and Technology.

For more information about the Siebel Scholars program, please visit

About the Siebel Scholars Foundation
The Siebel Scholars program was founded in 2000 by the Siebel Foundation to recognize the most talented students at the world’s leading graduate schools of business, computer science, and bioengineering. Today, our active community of more than 700 recipients from 19 graduate programs serves as advisors to the Siebel Foundation and works collaboratively to find solutions to society’s most pressing problems.

The Thomas and Stacey Siebel Foundation—a nonprofit, public benefit corporation established as a private foundation in 1996—donated more than $45 million to fund the Siebel Scholars program. Its mission is to support projects and organizations that work to improve the quality of life, environment, and education of its community members. The Siebel Foundation funds projects to support the homeless and underprivileged, educational and research programs, methamphetamine abuse prevention, and alternative energy solutions. The Siebel Foundation engages in strategic philanthropy; as such, it does not entertain grant requests, but invests in projects it creates and operates. For more information, please visit

# # #

Media Contact:

Kim Taba DeRose
Siebel Scholars Foundation
(650) 752-1016
kderose at