Have questions, suggestions, or concerns?

Program Directors:

Mailing Address:

Siebel Scholars Foundation
1300 Seaport Blvd., Suite 400
Redwood City, CA 94063


(650) 299-5260

Siebel Foundation to Convene National Security Leaders at “Energy Grid Cybersecurity: Threats & Solutions” Conference

ARTICLE BY: Corrie Goldman

Business Wire

February 22nd 2017

Leading experts in energy, cybersecurity, and government policy will examine threats to the power grid and devise solutions for increasing the resilience of energy networks and other critical infrastructure at the 11th Siebel Scholars conference

Government leaders, energy researchers, and cybersecurity experts from the U.S., Europe, and Asia are coming together for a three-day conference that aims to make critical infrastructure more secure.

The conference, Energy Grid Cybersecurity: Threats & Solutions, is co-sponsored by the Siebel Energy Institute and the Siebel Scholars Foundation, and will be held in Washington, D.C., from Friday, March 3 through Sunday, March 5, 2017.

The conference program will focus on the frequency, nature, sources, and potential impact of cyberattacks on U.S. critical infrastructure, with a concentration on the power grid.

The Honorable Dr. Robert M. Gates, former U.S. Secretary of Defense, will engage in a fireside chat with Thomas M. Siebel, Chairman of the Thomas and Stacey Siebel Foundation at the conference opening event on March 3 at the Smithsonian National Portrait Gallery. Ted Koppel, acclaimed journalist and author of Lights Out: A Cyberattack, A Nation Unprepared, Surviving the Aftermath, will moderate the conference proceedings on March 4 at the National Academy of Sciences building. On March 5, attendees will transform discussion into action as they work together to develop recommendations for making the grid more secure.

Together with conference attendees, eminent federal security experts and security industry specialists will discuss and debate the extent of the grid cybersecurity problem and how to best secure the power grid. Speakers include:

  • Richard Clarke, Cybersecurity Expert and Former Counterterrorism Czar
  • General Michael V. Hayden, Former Director of the CIA and the NSA
  • Dr. Douglas Maughan, Division Director, Cybersecurity Division, DHS/S&T/HSARPA
  • Jeremiah Grossman, Professional Hacker and Chief of Security Strategy, SentinelOne
  • Robert M. Lee, CEO and Founder, Dragos, Inc.
  • Kevin Mandia, CEO, FireEye
  • Steve Orrin, Federal Chief Technologist, Intel Corp.


Attendees will include recipients of the Siebel Scholars awards, which are granted annually to the leading graduate students at some of the world’s top universities. This formidable group of executives, entrepreneurs, researchers, and philanthropists directly influences the technologies, policies, and economic and social decisions that shape the future.

The Siebel Scholars will be joined by researchers from the Siebel Energy Institute, a global consortium for innovative and collaborative energy research dedicated to advancing the science of smart energy.

“Because the electric grid is key to, and interconnected deeply with every major infrastructure, a successful attack on the power grid could trigger cascading events in our national security, finance, and public health infrastructures. Advances in smart grid technologies have provided new services but have also created new vulnerabilities. In this conference, we will have a global dialogue between researchers, security experts from industry and the government, and stake holders, about solutions for enhancing the resilience of our new energy infrastructures,” said S. Shankar Sastry, Siebel Energy Institute Director and Dean of the College of Engineering at the University of California, Berkeley.

About the Siebel Scholars Program

Since 2000, the Siebel Scholars Foundation has granted over 1,100 scholarships of $35,000 each, to recognize the most promising students from the leading graduate schools of business, computer science, bioengineering, and energy science, and to build a lifelong community of leaders. Siebel Scholars are chosen on the basis of outstanding academic achievement and demonstrated leadership. Ninety-two Siebel Scholarships were granted in 2016.

The Siebel Scholars program was established through grants to Carnegie Mellon University; École Polytechnique; Harvard University; Johns Hopkins University; Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Northwestern University; Politecnico di Torino; Princeton University; Stanford University; Tsinghua University; University of California, Berkeley; University of California, San Diego; University of Chicago; University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; University of Pennsylvania; and The University of Tokyo.

About the Siebel Energy Institute

The Siebel Energy Institute is a global consortium for innovative and collaborative energy and cyber-physical systems research dedicated to advancing the science of smart energy. By funding cooperative and innovative research grants in data analytics, artificial intelligence, and machine learning, the Siebel Energy Institute aims to accelerate advancements in the safety, security, reliability, efficiency, and environmental integrity of modern energy and cyber-physical systems.

Siebel Energy Institute member universities include Carnegie Mellon University; École Polytechnique; Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Politecnico di Torino; Princeton University; Tsinghua University; University of California, Berkeley; University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; and The University of Tokyo.

Visit for conference details.

This article was orginally published by Business Wire.