Have questions, suggestions, or concerns?

Program Directors:

Mailing Address:

Siebel Scholars Foundation
1300 Seaport Blvd., Suite 400
Redwood City, CA 94063


(650) 299-5260

Siebel Foundation Announces 2010 Siebel Scholars

Community Grows to 540 Current and Alumni Scholars from Leading Universities

PALO ALTO, Calif.—September 14, 2009—The Siebel Foundation today announced the recipients of the annual Siebel Scholars awards. The Siebel Scholars program recognizes outstanding graduate students from the world’s most prestigious business, computer science, and bioengineering graduate schools.  New Siebel Scholars and program alumni comprise a distinctive and diverse community that brings together the best and brightest to solve some of society’s most pressing issues.

The Siebel Scholars program was established by the Siebel Foundation in 2000 to recognize exceptional students at the world’s leading graduate schools of business and computer science.  With the Class of 2010, the Siebel Scholars program has expanded to include the world’s foremost bioengineering programs, as well as talent from one of China’s top universities.  Based on academic excellence and leadership, five graduate students from each institution are honored as Class of 2010 Siebel Scholars and receive a $35,000 award for their final year of graduate studies.

Today, 540 Scholars are active in a program that fosters personal leadership, academic achievement, and the collaborative search for solutions to pressing societal problems.  Siebel Scholars inspire and guide the development of innovative programs the Siebel Foundation initiates, such as the Meth Project, a large-scale prevention program aimed at reducing first-time Meth use, which has cut Meth abuse by 63% in Montana and is now active in eight states; and the Siebel Stem Cell Institute, which supports innovative joint research to understand the root causes of today’s most destructive diseases and translate stem cell discoveries into new therapies.

“Eighty graduate students will gain the distinction of being named Siebel Scholars this year, joining a network of the brightest leaders from across the globe,” said Thomas M. Siebel, Chairman of the Siebel Scholars Foundation.  “We are proud to welcome the Class of 2010 Scholars to the program, and to begin working with them on addressing critical social issues through the annual conference and Siebel Foundation initiatives.”

Siebel Scholars are selected from among students who rank top of their class, and are chosen by the dean of their respective schools on the basis of outstanding academic achievement and demonstrated qualities of leadership.  This year’s honorees are:

Graduate Schools of Bioengineering

  • Johns Hopkins University, Whiting School of Engineering and School of Medicine:Vasudev Bailey, Noy Bassik, Raymond Cheong, Sarah Hemminger, Shawn Lim
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology, School of Engineering: Rachel E. Miller, Kristen Naegle, Megan J. Palmer, Michael M. Schmidt, Marcio Goldani von Muhlen
  • Stanford University, School of Engineering and School of Medicine: Julia Chen, Christina Fan, Douglas S. Jones, Andrea Seba Les, Chuba Oyolu
  • University of California, Berkeley, College of Engineering: Jeffrey Allen Dietrich, Rokhaya Diop, Maral Gharib, Gary Chiaray Lee, Somin Eunice Lee
  • University of California, San Diego, Institute of Engineering in Medicine and Jacobs School of Engineering: Terrell Green, Amy Hsieh, Roy Lefkowitz, Julio Ng, Jennifer Marie Singelyn


Graduate Schools of Business

  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Sloan School of Management: Julie L. Christensen, Charles A. Gammal, Jessica Way Mazonson, Angela M. Thedinga, Eduard Viladesau Franquesa
  • Northwestern University, Kellogg School of Management: Susan Mari Bortz, Jarrod Charles Cady, Jeremiah Quinlan, Jason Robinson, Donald Yeh
  • Stanford University, Graduate School of Business: Ashley Evans, Kenneth Hammond, Andrew Martin, Matthew Skaruppa, Iain Ware
  • University of Chicago, Booth School of Business: Neal Brenner, Song Yang Lee, Mihir Shah, Guy H. Turner, Nathan Edward Wilhite


Graduate Schools of Computer Science

  • Carnegie Mellon University, School of Computer Science: Anton Bachin, Betty Yee Man Cheng, Matthew Easterday, Brina Goyette, Jonathan Hartje
  • Harvard University, School of Engineering and Applied Sciences: Geoffrey Werner Challen, Zhou Fan, Brett Alexander Harrison, Benjamin Lubin, Ameya Velingker
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology, School of Engineering: Charles Henry Herder, Tony Kim, Kwang Siong Leow, David D. Nackoul, Tao Benjamin Schardl
  • Stanford University, School of Engineering: Thomas Dillig, Shaddin Dughmi, Daniel K. Gibson, Daniel Reiter Horn, Edward Maysing Luong
  • Tsinghua University, School of Information Science and Technology: Yi Pang, ShiYu Yan, Xin Yang, Jidong Zhai, Yuzhou Zhang
  • University of California, Berkeley, College of Engineering: Alexandre Bouchard-Cote, Percy Liang, Adrian Mettler, Benjamin Rubinstein, Jason Wolfe
  • University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, College of Engineering: Anthony Bergstrom, Raghu Kiran Ganti, Brett R. Jones, Yun Young Lee, Rajinder Sodhi


With the Class of 2010, the Siebel Scholars award increased to $35,000 per graduate student. Current and alumni Siebel Scholars will convene in the spring of 2010 to address the topic of climate change with renowned scientists, lawmakers, and experts.