Have questions, suggestions, or concerns?

Program Directors:

Mailing Address:

Siebel Scholars Foundation
1300 Seaport Blvd., Suite 400
Redwood City, CA 94063


(650) 299-5260

Number of LGO Siebel Scholars Rises to Six

MIT Leaders for Global Operations

December 3rd 2009

Angela Thedinga, LGO ‘10, has been named a Siebel Scholar by the Siebel Scholars Foundation. She joins five LGOs who have received this honor since the program was established in 2000.

Angela Thedinga, LGO ‘10
Photo by L. Barry Hetherington

The Siebel Scholars program recognizes the most talented students at the world’s leading graduate schools of business, computer science, and bioengineering. Scholars are selected by the Dean of their respective schools on the basis of outstanding academic performance and demonstrated qualities of leadership. They receive a $35,000 award during their final year of study and become part of the Siebel Scholars community, whose members serve as advisors to the Siebel Foundation and work collaboratively through strategic philanthropy to find solutions to society’s most pressing problems.

Thedinga is currently completing her six-month internship at Novartis Biologics in Basel, Switzerland, and is scheduled to graduate with both her MBA and MS in Chemical Engineering in June 2010. She expressed particular appreciation for two Siebel Scholars initiatives in which her peers have been engaged in creating and evolving. One, the Meth Project, has successfully reduced methamphetamine abuse in Montana and is now being rolled out to 10 additional states. The second is the Energy Free Home Challenge, which creates an incentive for developing energy-efficient homes that cost no more than conventional housing.

Because of these and other projects, Thedinga noted, "I am honored and humbled to be part of the Siebel Scholar community."

Other LGOs who have been honored as Siebel Scholars are Jeff Goldberg and Sara Metcalf, LGO '01; Aaron Raphel and Vikram Sahney, LGO '05; and Nicholas Padgalskas, LGO '07.


Article by: Lois Slavin, LGO-SDM Communications Director

Read the article: