Have questions, suggestions, or concerns?

Program Directors:

Mailing Address:

Siebel Scholars Foundation
1300 Seaport Blvd., Suite 400
Redwood City, CA 94063


(650) 299-5260

MIT EECS Honor 2012 Siebel Scholars


October 14th 2011

Five MIT graduate students from the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science are among the 85 worldwide who have been named the Class of 2012 Siebel Scholars. Elie Adam, Angela Chang, George Chen, Nirmesh Malviya, and Fan Zhang join a vibrant community of highly accomplished leaders from the top graduate programs in business, computer science, and bioengineering. [Photo above: Department Head Anantha Chandrakasan (left and to the right) Angela Chang, Nirmesh Malviya, Fan Zhang, Elie Adam, EECS Graduate Officer Leslie Kolodziejski, and Staff Member Peggy Carney.] Read more about the 15 MIT students named Class of 2012 Siebel Scholars in the MIT News Office Oct. 11, 2011 article.

Many mobile applications violate privacy policies by leaking data, sometimes unintentionally. Fan Zhang wants to address this controversial policy concern with technology by creating an architecture and tagging scheme that lets users specify data-sharing policies, and then automatically checks whether their installed applications comply.

If you’ve ever wished your GPS would navigate you around traffic delays, Nirmesh Malviya hopes to realize that goal. As road conditions for your programmed route change based on real-time data gathered from mobile devices, Nirmesh is working on algorithms to determine whether a delay on a particular road will impact your current route, and suggest a new optimized route if applicable.

George Chen’s research has the potential to dramatically change the way human brain mapping is performed and enable exciting new discoveries in the area of language processing. He has developed new algorithms and theories to model variations in brain activation patterns in order to address the problems caused by the way typical neuroimaging studies calculate these activation patterns.

Through her research in the User Interface Design Group, Angela Chang is working on applying a cutting-edge, highly collaborative, real-time web-based development environment toward computer science education. She is a national collegiate medalist, an accomplished violinist and a black stripe national medalist on the MIT Sport Taekwondo team.

Elie Adam is researching how people interact on their social networks and influence one another, specifically looking at Boolean threshold networks and their limiting behavior. He attended the American University of Beirut, earning his B.E. in Computer and Communications Engineering.

The Siebel Scholars program was founded in 2000 to recognize the most talented students at the world’s leading graduate schools of business, computer science, and bioengineering and to form an active, lifelong community among an ever-growing group of leaders. Based on academic excellence and leadership, graduate students are honored as Class of 2012 Siebel Scholars and receive a $35,000 award for the final year of their Master’s degree program.

The Siebel Scholars Foundation is funded by the Siebel Foundation. Established as a private foundation in 1996, the Siebel Foundation is a nonprofit, public benefit corporation. Its mission is to support projects and organizations that work to improve the quality of life, environment, and education of its community members. For more information, please visit

Link to original article: